FREDERICTON (GNB) – Ten new members were invested into the Order of New Brunswick today by the chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau, at a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton.

“New Brunswickers are our province’s greatest asset,” said Premier Brian Gallant. “Today we are honouring 10 remarkable individuals who have helped to make New Brunswick the best place to live work and raise a family. We are proud to celebrate their accomplishments and contributions to the economy, education and health care in our province.”

This year’s recipients are:

  • Normand Caissie, from Richibucto, for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and of the province.
  • Raimo Kokkonen, from Trout Book, for his dedicated commitment to the advancement of the biathlon sport in New Brunswick and his dedicated service in support of veterans.
  • Susan Chalmers-Gauvin, from Riverview, for her passion and vision to create Atlantic Canada’s first professional ballet company thereby enhancing the province’s economic potential as well as its cultural diversity and artistic excellence.
  • Jacqueline Webster, from Fredericton, for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contribution to the field of journalism.
  • Dr. Michael Perley, from Woodstock First Nation, for his devotion and exemplary patient care, for his contribution to the province’s medical community and his involvement with First Nations communities to ensure improved health delivery and services.
  • Measha Brueggergosman, from Fredericton, for her achievements in the performing arts and for her contribution to the music community and industry in New Brunswick.
  • Léopold Thériault, from Tracadie, for being an outstanding leader in steel-structure manufacturing and for his generosity, community engagement and commitment to youth.
  • Donat Lacroix, from Caraquet, for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of Acadian and francophone culture and traditions through his music.
  • Erminie Cohen, from Saint John, for her outstanding impact on adoption, her dedication and commitment to volunteerism and her compassion in helping change the lives of New Brunswick’s most vulnerable.
  • Richard J. Currie, from Rothesay, as a top business leader and for his contribution to the social, economic and cultural fabric of New Brunswick through his dedication and significant support of public education.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field. Since 2002, more than 150 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

The 2017 inductees were presented with an Order of New Brunswick medal. Members of the order are entitled to use the initials ONB after their names.